Christmas Eve

I’d love to say I’ve had a relaxing and restful day - but as I don’t really know what one of those is, I just had a lie in until 8. After showering etc I cycled up to feed Minnie at the allotment. I have her extra corn. Well, it is Christmas!

At 10.30 Jon, Mollie and I drove in to Cromer, dropping Moll off at her friend’s for a social gathering. Jon and I then had a nice wander in the bracing wind, through North Lodge Park and through the town. Bought a few bits and then went in search of a coffee shop that was open. Not many it seems, as they are all opening Boxing Day to catch the extra people who will be in town for the dip. Mad people. Luckily, we found a new one called The Gangway, and it was lovely. Quaint, very french atmosphere, and we had a coffee and a mulled wine. Plus a huge piece of lemon drizzle cake and two forks. It was lovely.

Back home, we got on with jobs. I baked a white chocolate roulade and some orange mince pies, and put a gammon on to roast for dinner. My afternoon has created a lot of washing up which Jon tried to keep up with as I produced it. Now we’ve had dinner, eaten the roulade which mum and dad joined us for, and now Daniel is doing another load of the washing up. The downside of a tiny kitchen means no dishwasher!!

I bought a new family board game which we have just played. It is similar to Cluedo, but different and more thought needed. We enjoyed it.

I’ve started peeling veg for tomorrow but there is more to do, but it’s the final episode of A Christmas Carol. So tv, then probably a late night.....because I am still the one that can’t sleep on Christmas Eve.

Wishing everyone a warm and happy Christmas day with their families and loved ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.