KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Mild Beginning to the New Year

I wandered out to the garden this afternoon to see what I could find to blip today. Although there's bulbs poking up here and there, mostly it's just pretty muddy. But I came across the still-blooming yarrow (it's really just one measly stalk looking somewhat weather-worn) and I used my Canon to take a picture of it thinking it was pretty cool that it was still blooming. When I looked at it closely on my computer, I was surprised (once again) to discover that the camera saw something that my eyes did not. It's too dark for the macro lens today, so used my iPhone and its macro - not great quality but it does the job. So here we have a wee caterpillar enjoying the last of the yarrow. I'm thinking it's a cabbage looper but I'm not sure. It's tiny - less than an inch. Terribly odd to find it in the garden today. I'm not minding the mild weather although in more global terms it's worrisome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.