Denver Winter Picnic!

It was quite grey and dull in Denver this morning. I was awake way before sunrise thanks to jet lag! I missed the skiing from yesterday so I watched both the women’s and men’s race on catch up on my phone, with a 3 hour nap in between!  Watching skiing sometimes makes me feel VERY drowsy!  Maybe I should always put it on when I’m awake in the middle of the night!!

After my long outing yesterday I allowed myself a lazy morning. By the time I went out to get lunch at about noon the sky was spotlessly blue - it had turned into one of those glorious Colorado warm and sunny winter days.

Instead of eating inside I got a salad to go, and went to Civic Park to eat outside in the sunshine - the Capitol building behind me and the City & County building ahead of me. (Another more colourful view of the same building here.)

I wish I’d gone out an hour or so earlier because I didn’t have much time, but sitting in the sun felt SO good, even though there was still some snow on the ground. If I’d had more time I would have sat with my book for an hour or so.

Sadly, work beckoned me so I had to rush back to the hotel, shower and head to the airport for my flight back home. I’m still grateful for a sunny day and being able to eat outside, even for just a little while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.