Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The plumber's mate!

We thought that 2019 was the year of the leak for us.

2020 has started with a different sort of leaks, in the form of frequent nosebleeds for Mum. Today I thought there was a musty smell in the dining room and discovered that the radiator has a slow leak on one of the valves.

Regular followers will know that this could be enough to make me a quivering lump of jelly. However, a gal's got to do what a gal's got to do.

That's right, I looked on YouTube!

I bled the radiator, switched it off (that required a screwdriver and a pair of pliers), then I mopped up the worst of the water before emptying two large bookcases. Sigh.

That meant I could move the bookcases and roll back the carpet. There is a fair sized damp patch and one section of underlay is soaking. The wayrock doesn't look too bad...........

I have pieces of kitchen roll tied in knots around the pipe in various places to work out where the leak originates.

All this means I do not have to call a plumber on weekend rates.

Daisy always likes to supervise activities and came to inspect the site.

I did not get out for my afternoon walk, but feel as though I have done enough lifting and carrying to count as exercise today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.