Three bridges from a train

Nick’s meeting Nikita at Gorebridge. I come along for the ride and get a quick catch up on Nikita‘a planned move to Sanday, Orkney.

I catch the Gala line for the first time, trundling into Waverley twenty minutes later. A quick walk to George Street for another catchup, this time with Ian. The life o’Reilly for me.

Back to Waverley to head for Kinghorn. I’ve reached 60 hours of fasting, so I consumed, at a measured pace, a Pret protein pot of spinach and boiled eggs. Perfect.

In the flat, I log back into work and deal with the morning. I also have some homework to do for Claire. Then, load the car and drive to Edinburgh.

I’m half way round the bypass when I get reminded of a meeting I’m expected at. I pull off and park up at a Travelodge, fire up my hotspot, and flip open the laptop. Fifty glorious minutes later, I’m back on the bypass.

Park at Colinton, walk into Marchmont, install myself in Costa. Ninety minutes of productive work before it’s time to go to this month’s riveting BCS committee meeting. Which wraps up in record time after less than forty minutes.

I meet Austin at the Three Birds across the road. I’ve not well and truly broken the fast, with a very tasty three courses: celeriac mousse, stuffed peppers with gets, and the Mellis cheeses.

Drive home. Conk out. I’ll feed the snake tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.