The Big Golden Dog

By Cowlieowlie

Light Painting

Today was my first attempt at "light painting". Many, many thanks to clickychick for telling me how to do it. It's such fun! And kind of addictive.

The only portable screen I had on hand to use was my small 'brick' style phone. I will try some more pictures later with the iPad when my dad brings it home from work. Thus, I waved the lit-up phone screen around in front of the camera a bit, and it worked! Well, kind of. I think I forgot to focus it properly. I could do with a bit more practice. Definitely an art form with lots more potential.

This morning we learnt a bit about composition at painting class, but not much. We had fun though, sticking and glueing bits of paper and splashing the paint on! Something helpful we did learn about composition though - if you are thinking about where to place objects in a painting, in terms of a pleasing composition, tear / cut their general outlines out of newspaper and place them on the watercolour paper. Move them around until you're happy with the composition, then mark where the different shapes are lightly in pencil.

And all the exams are over! My lovely parents / teachers said I could have a day off doing any schoolwork today, because I have been doing exams all week and I am exhausted. Hence the fact I had time to do fun stuff like playing with my camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.