Street Life

A very contented few hours and 9000+ steps in Istiklal this afternoon/evening. I always love walking the adventure that this vibrant, quintessential "Istanbul" street never fails to deliver.  Officially, I was shopping for sundry items in preparation for my upcoming annual trip to The Hague whilst of course, looking out for street pics on this bright sunlight but cold afternoon and wasn't disappointed when I came home with all that I needed, and more, as any successful shopping trip can boast. As usual, there were delightful surprises - particularly the lad in the thumbnail who, with nothing more than two large, empty yogurt gallon tubs (Turks eat a lot of yoghurt!), the pavement and a pair of drumsticks, played his heart out, and oh boy did this boy have rhythm.  Fast, seamless streams of complex rhythms, his performance was faultless and mesmeric. I was one of a reasonable crowd who recorded his performance and subsequently rewarded him for entertaining us. Amazing skill and talent, and with such paltry resources.  Would that the world could have heard him or that life might offer him a lucky break one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.