25012020

Today morning I headed out to Alicante to take part in Epoxy Resin course. I've wanted to learn how to use it for at least a year, and now I had an opportunity quite close to us.

I had a blast. Our teacher is from Venezuela. He's lived in China and Australia and basically been around the world. He's an engineer and he's motivation to become such came from his childhood. They lived in an apartment building. He was 7 and a big earthquake hit the town. It made the building sway. His mom yelled earthquake, quick, run! He didn't even know what an earthquake was. They struggled to get out as the doors were moving so bad. So he started to wonder how we could build safes houses. And as epoxy is so much lighter than stone as a building material (and mass makes the houses sway even more) he found his zest for epoxy as a material. He's used it to even fix buildings after earthquakes when the houses have huge cracks. And those fixes have survived the following earthquakes.

Anyway. So my weekend is all about epoxy resin. I have million ideas already. Tomorrow we will learn how to make resin look like it's marble.

This picture is me mixing my first epoxy resin with color of copper. It's coning out beautiful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.