Out and About

By LeslieBigos

In the foothills

I asked Dan if he wanted to go hiking with me today. At first he said no has he had bicycled 40 miles yesterday. He gave it a second thought and was so glad he did! Today was so beautiful. It really feels like an early Spring. Last year, we had snow partway through March. 

The foothills are still brown and barren but soon they will be green and covered with wildflowers unless winter decides to revisit us.

We live in a shrub-steppe environment. We have lots of sagebrush, rabbitbrush, serviceberry and grasses of different types. When spring comes, though, the hills get covered with wildflowers.

My training for my Cotswold trip is going well as I am getting to hike in the hills a lot.  I have to do some conversion but at looking at the Cotswolds elevation maps, it looks like we have no more than 300 meters at a go in elevation gain. Today, I hiked that and then some.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.