Capital adventures

By marchmont

193

Is the combined ages of the two ladies in the picture. I worked with J, on the left in 1970/71 at Bowater-Scott (Australia) Pty Ltd in Middleborough Rd. She sat behind me. She'll be 95 this year. I met her sister for the first time today. She's 100 in October and wanted to say thanks for looking after her daughter M in Edinburgh 46 years ago, although in truth I think my mother did most of the looking after. M, 70 this year, and her mum live in Sorrento and J in Mornington. It was a happy, if slightly bittersweet catch up after 10 years. J's son L drive me down and M brought me back and in between we had afternoon tea with scones and cream and jam and cake. J is a bit frail now but was hanging on to see me. Bittersweet as I don't suppose I'll see her again.

Earlier if gone for a walk and failed to get to Bunnings as the footpath ran out and I couldn't find a safe way to cross 2 highways. Frustrating as I could see the huge warehouse like store.

Later I took J and T to the Thai in Berwick for tea and we reminisced about Pura Pura and cousins here and in France and even later about the 6 foster kids my aunt and uncle looked after all these years ago. They all seem to have done well.

And on the weather front, we may have got the tail end of the storm affecting Sydney and the east coast. It rained all night and continued to be windy and cool, barely 21 deg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.