The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Art Gallery, Worpswede, Germany

One of the many galleries in Worpswede, which became an artists colony in the late 19th century. The mainly Impressionist-style paintings are a visual treat, as are the buildings that house them. My sister has commented that this one looks like our house in Co. Dublin, Ireland, the first house I remember. I think that is why I definitely wanted to go inside: we had a choice, and I chose this one, but didn't know why at the time.


We took a short drive out here and walked around in a somewhat lethargic fashion. Maybe the fact that the sky was leaden and we hadn't gone to bed till 4am, after the dancing at the Slaughterhouse (!) had something to do with our sluggishness. I did enjoy viewing the paintings, though, and bought several postcards.

After that we went for a fast food style meal (Schnitzel and chips in huntsman's sauce for me) and drove back quickly because Storm Dennis was whipping up here, too, though not as fiercely as it was in the UK, which has now been battered for two weekends in a row.

I'd like to say we had an early night, but no, we hit the wine again....
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.