Norm53

By Norm53

The Major Oak

Managed to get a few hours to myself whilst down in Sheffield so popped down to Sherwood Forest. Since I was last there, they have built a new visitor centre on the edge of Edwinstowe where I had a coffee and a breakfast bap. The place is nice an clean and airy but I much prefer the small cafe in the Craft Centre over the road.

Followed the trail to the Major Oak where legend would tell us that Robin Hood and his Merry Men lived. It really is massive, so much so that it has to be supported these days due to its age and weight. It is also fenced off.

Lots of other interestingly shaped ancient trees are scattered around the Forest which make for good photography.

On the progress of Sal’s dad, I have noticed a marked improvement over the past few days. He is very slowly getting back to his old self but it will be a long process.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.