Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Quo vadis?

...is the title of this portrait by Massimiliani Pironti which won third prize in the BP Portait Award 2019. It's of his grandmother, Vincenza, aged 95. She is shown in the kitchen of the house where she lives, holding the hot water bottle she almost invariably uses to keep her hands warm. Pironti says, "I wanted to capture her image, to freeze time. Every wrinkle tells her story as a woman and at the same time, ties me to my roots."

For the record, I would just like to say that I checked with the gallery about posting this online and they were happy with it. I really liked this lady's face and how she was portrayed.

I spent most of the day at the Portrait Gallery with Sunseeker who is over from Greece for a visit. We had refreshments and a blether before and after seeing the exhibition and it was good to catch up, although things are not plain sailing at the moment as regards her mother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.