Surreal

Very weird day. V and I had long been booked on a spa day in North Berwick for my birthday and Christmas combined presents, and we went and had a lovely time in the saunas, steam rooms, outdoor heated pool and had a couple of lovely treatments, then lunch and cream tea in the lounge overlooking the sea and the Bass Rock. However at the same time I was up to my eyes in the fast changing planning at work....2 hour phone conference sitting in the car first thing, then lots of messaging and emails and further calls throughout the day. Trying to keep off Twitter to save me from exploding.
Meantime, getting calls and messages from the kids. T&Kt settling into Kuala Lumpur after leaving Borneo and loving their swish hotel suite, sending videos of the electric curtains, and A sending pictures of her empty A&E department in Oxford.....interesting how people suddenly realise the stuff they usually go to A&E for is perhaps not that important after all. Also messages about my goddaughter’s wedding planned for next month....still planning to go ahead at the moment but must be so unsettling for them.
Eerie sense of waiting, coupled with frantic action on so many people’s part.
The weekend’s book festival events I’d planned to go to in Glasgow have been cancelled so I’m determined to have a massive clean up at home, and get a grip on the mounds of prep required for next week
So, surreal day and what feels like a turning point. It will be so interesting to look back in a few months’ time to reflect on all this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.