The Big Golden Dog

By Cowlieowlie

Wobbly!

This pile of books was originally stacked firmly against the end of my bed. But then I realised my bed was too far out from the wall, and my pillow kept falling down the gap. So I had to push the bed back a couple of inches, resulting in a very wobbly pile of leaning books!

The reason all the books are off the shelf was because I was painting behind them (the bookshelves are built into the wall). Originally I had painted some scenes from some of the books on the wall behind, but I don't think they're very good so I'm doing it again.

Today was a very busy day. Church this morning, with an interesting sermon about 'what's the opposite of fear - faith, or love'? The conclusion drawn was love, but not ruling out faith completely. I also had a nice time cuddling melamny's daughter. She's so gorgeous! Church was being very coronavirus-conscious, and the servers at coffee time were wearing gloves, and we weren't supposed to hug each other, and all the chairs were set further apart than usual. Although I saw many other people hugging melamny's daughter as well! Maybe it doesn't apply to babies.

This afternoon I was off to a Christian youth event (3-8pm) which we thought was in Grangemouth, but actually it turned out it was just outside of Grangemouth. I got a lift with some friends from the borders, who were passing near our house on their journey. We got kind of lost on the way, and went round one roundabout three times! We ended up in the Aldi carpark, but eventually found our way to the hotel where the event was being held.

We went in, and washed our hands, of course. Then there was worship. Then a short talk, (by Ethan from CA3 if you're reading this, melamny). Weirdly, the talk was about faith being the opposite of fear! What a coincidence. Then more worship. Then workshops. I did one on 'what is fear' which wasn't very interesting, because my dad's a psychologist and I knew it all already. The second workshop was fun, about 'fears and facing the future', and letting God guide your future. There was a choice of four different workshops, but I can't remember what the other two were. One maybe about faith? 

Then dinner! Yum. Macaroni cheese, all yummy and crispy and cheesy on top. I had seconds! Then a tasty pudding of a kind of moussey cheesecakey thing. We got posh hotel food, because the kind owner of the hotel let the Christian youth event use the premises (and presumably the food) for free.

After dinner we did a thing where you write your name on a bookmark, and something you want prayer for, and then go and swap it with someone you don't know.

Then we did a thing called 'creative prayer stations', which was interesting, creative ways to interact with God. They had little charms to create a keyring as part of it. I didn't make a keyring, but I did take a little wooden cross to string to my handbag. The wood is just the right colour to go with the leather. There was one station where you put a drawing pin in the map for wherever you lived to pray for it. I didn't do it at the time, but then my friend Benji dragged me over at the end to do it.

After that was... I'm forgetting.... Ah, yes. Musical prayers, instead of chairs. Mill about whilst the music plays, then when it stops, and someone shouts a number, get into groups of that number and pray together, about something which the aforementioned person will have also shouted along with the number. Then more worship, then hometime. Phew! We got lost on the way home, because Pete who was giving directions was playing Mario Kart and not giving directions. But we got back to the cafe where my parents picked me up from in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.