Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Empty Shelves

First and foremost many, many thanks for all of the responses to my post yesterday.  I can’t quite believe that I have now posted 3001 entries over more than 8 years.  I’m pretty sure it’s the only New Year resolution I kept for any length of time!  I’ll try to catch up later, looks like there will be plenty of time.

I popped out to the supermarket at midday.  I only had a few odd items to get, my main reason was to get a fill valve for the toilet from the nearby DIY store. For someone who usually shops as the store opens it was somewhat of a shock to see the state of the shelves. I couldn’t even get mustard, other than the powdered variety.  That was such a memory jolt as I remember watching my Mum make up mustard using this powder in the past.

I came across this article from Nat Geo on the reasons behind the panic buying. It also has unfortunate consequences for some of the medical staff working so hard to look after those people suffering with the virus,

I want to remain up beat so while I will be recording my experiences of this pandemic, I’m also hoping to find some lighter moments to share over the coming weeks and months.  

I hope you are all well, please take care of yourselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.