An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It's time to wake up and smell the flowers...

Stop the world I want to get off...
If only I had a pause button...
Time is flying by...
Can I go back and do that day over again...
Why does life have to be controlled by the clock?
Oh to know the joy of not setting an alarm...
Why are we always running late?!
Oh to have a day with no one to please but myself...
Do we really have to go?  I'd rather stay home watching an old film and eating cake.
There just aren't enough hours in the day...


These words, and many variations of them, I've been known to mutter under my breath and sometimes not so quietly on numerous occasions over the years.

That alarming feeling of time rushing by faster and faster with every passing year and so many small, and some not so small, things needing my attention but life dictating that priorities lie elsewhere.  

Things to do, places to go, people to see....

Except now there isn't and there aren't, and I've been so wrapped up in what's being denied to me / us at the moment, that I have (until this morning) failed to fully appreciate the opportunities that have opened up.  The irony that this Coronavirus compelled incarceration leads to a certain freedom I have fantasised about all my adult life.

The world has stopped...
The pause button has been pushed...
Time has slowed to a snail's pace...
Groundhog day is real...
I've stopped wearing my watch?
I've stopped setting an alarm...
I have nothing to be late for...
For the most part I have no one to please but myself...
I can stay home watching old films and eating cake...
The day stretches blankly before me, inviting me to fill my hours with things that challenge me, educate me, amuse me, fulfil me...and I can do this alone or in love and laughter with my soul mate, and my son.  

Others are not so fortunate and are out there on the front line, working to keep us and the entire country safe, looked after, functioning, alive.  An army of key workers showing that there is far more love and kindness out there than evil. And this is happening the world over.  We are not alone.  

It blows my mind.

So time to wake up and smell the flowers (or coffee, whatever floats your boat :-)  No more moaning from me, just a sincere appreciation of the real superheroes in all our lives, and a quiet appreciation of how lucky I am.

P.S. This is the funniest thing I read all day because it resonates so strongly with me!  :-)))

"After years of wanting to thoroughly clean my house but lacking the time, this week I discovered that wasn't the reason."    :-))))))))))


P.P.S I give myself permission to moan, rant and curse about the complete personification of evil that is D Trump.  I'm only human after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.