Resilience

Congratulations to norfolkdoc and sjb for identifying what I was up to yesterday and to PaulaJ for getting the right words. 

I am reclaiming as many good quality bricks as I can (for the house I will move to when removals can happen again) from the various disguised brickpiles in the garden I will be leaving. Underneath the patio was one pile, and the border, using bricks in a wasteful orientation, was another. I've taken out all the good quality ones and replaced them, at a frugal 90° angle to before, with damaged bricks, damaged face down. The gaps in the soil will be replenished tomorrow from the bottom of the compost heap.

'More bricks' (for me) was one clue and the tag 'BorderEdge' shows a blip with the bricks the other way round.

I did more brickwork than I should have done yesterday so to give my hands a chance to recover I restricted my manual work today to the laptop keyboard. Then to get some exercise I went for a quiet walk by the river this evening. Just like everyone else - it was as crowded as Snowdonia on a coronavirus weekend and I felt very unsettled. I retreated home, though not before my spirits had been lifted by new leaves (extra). 

I spotted this example of resilience through the attic window about an hour before I opened it again to join the rest of my street in clapping our health care workers. I am overawed by their care for strangers. What we owe them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.