I STEPPED OUTSIDE

rather early. Some days ago I had seen at the other side of the Weser a scenery that had impressed me, nicely shaped tree surrounded by snow fields and I had thought then I will give that a try soon. I decided to cross the river and follow the path there. And on my way back I could take the icicles shots like I did yesterday again, at the shore of the river, that had to go in favor of Lucky's eye.
And I could try to get a glimpse of the kingfisher again.
It all went differently. Near the 'Pegelhuisje' where the tiny canal comes from the harbour (which was only a harbour centuries ago) into the Weser there sat three ducks high upon the quay very near the water, they half slept, half awake.
Could not ignore them, two male and a female, they still were together since a long time. Almost a little movie when I saw the pictures later. I did not disturb them.
I could not find the trees at all and it is funny that but from the side where I was now I saw a lovely scene at the other side of the river. A woman on horseback pulled on a rope three sledges with children who all had such fun.
The cormorants were also at the other side.
Plodding through the snow almost the whole time I liked it nevertheless. Especially the nearly visible sun!

My haiku:

Sleepy as they were
Covered in their feathers
One eye open in case

And the italian proverb:

Better be the head of a cat than the tail of a lion.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.