Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The end of March

Today is the last day of the month. What a momentous month this has been. We could never have imagined that our lives were to be turned upside down in this way and that so many people would be ill or have died from a new virus that has attacked the world.

It's breathtaking.

Some things that also catch my breath happen in the government press conferences when questions are ignored or answered in a way that means we are none the wiser. I'm sure there are people doing their best to break the epidemic and it must have come as a total shock to a government whose main task was to bring us out of the EU. (Brexit? Remember that?)

I've been at home all day with little motivation to do much. I did put on my hairdresser's apron to wash and set Mum's hair. She is still not keen on my taking the scissors to it, but I think we should attempt a light trim before the job becomes too difficult.

If I was still in the NHS now, I would want public support, but I would not want anyone to produce a medal for me doing my job. I would want to know that the promised protective equipment had arrived and was available. I'm joining in the Blip Community Hearts for Heroes to show my solidarity and support for those who are doing a very difficult job and must me waiting for the worst of the epidemic with apprehension.

This heart and the candle holder came from the Durham Cathedral shop when Mum and I visited there in easier times. They are on the mantelpiece with the heart hanging down. I blended the main image with a background texture.

I love candles and the warmth and hope they bring.

This morning, our photo group, 10 of us, joined for an online coffee morning. It was good fun and we enjoyed each other's company. The Zoom app worked well. 

I slept all afternoon, but I did secure a Tesco online shop for 20th April. That meant staying up to midnight again, but it is good news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.