Nor’wester and Steps

All through the night and most of the day a warm nor’west wind roared. When I looked out at dawn there were wonderful lenticular clouds over the mountains, but by the time it was light enough to photograph them the best had dissipated. I liked this stretched out cloud. Best seen full screen.

The wind was too much for the fantails apparently, because they kept coming inside the house, sometimes two at a time and staying for up to half an hour. One pair quickly cleaned any insects off my high ceiling and then began to play. What an amazing spectacle. I sat back in my armchair and watched them. At first they jostled one another on the branches of the rubber plant, and then they took flight. They flew very fast, close together, darting, swooping, making lightening turns in unison, for several minutes at a stretch. They took my breath away.

Today marks a special milestone for me. Six months ago I determined to walk at least 10,000 steps a day, every day. As with blipping there were difficult days as well as good days, but I stuck to it. So I’ve achieved 6 months with no gaps and I’m very pleased. Most of the steps have been done around my garden and indoors. I wear the pedometer (see extra) all the time, not just when I go for a walk. The result is a free feeling in my legs when I walk, and I’ve had to take in the waistbands of my pants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.