ABSTRACT THURSDAY - LOOKING UP

First of all, I would like to thank you, on behalf of Mr. HCB for all the kind and wonderful comments on yesterday’s Blip and for all the lovely comments and best wishes for his birthday.  I apologise that I didn't respond or get round to commenting, but felt I should be with him on his special day.  

We had a great day and celebrated in style.  Our son, Martyn and his wife, Dawn, came over at lunchtime so we sat in the garden and chatted, keeping our distance, of course.  Mr. HCB also had messages from our son in Vietnam and from our grandchildren, and from many other friends, which was great, so even though it was a “different” birthday, he said it was still very enjoyable.

Later in the afternoon, we had a tea party, complete with vol-au-vents, sandwiches, trifle and a birthday cake, specially made by our lovely next-door neighbour, Lynn, who had worked tirelessly to make it all look good - see my collage in the extras.  Although we all kept our distance, we chatted and played games and forgot that we were “on lockdown”. 

We did have one or two glasses of wine and I must confess I did feel a little “light-headed” this morning, but I have taken it easy so am a little later doing my Blip.  This is a shot of our lovely Golden Wedding sculpture, and I have fartnarkled a little with my "Painteresque" app to make it look more abstract.

It’s a beautiful sunny day again, with a little nip in the air, and of course, Mr. HCB has been in the garden working, but being a bit of a wimp, I have stayed indoors.  We had a FaceTime chat with some friends this morning, I have one planned with another friend this afternoon, we will probably have our usual chat under the carport with our neighbours and we have a Zoom meeting with our Church friends this evening - so there is plenty going on.  We always seem to be busy and are certainly not bored, but not even sure we will get our walk today.

Stay safe and well - and enjoy the sunshine while you can.

 “Sometimes, when you make the most
     out of what you have,
          it turns out being a lot more
               than you ever imagined.”
Susan Gale

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.