lovelife209

By mindful_life

Time-lapse tree

I pleased to say I didn't get any abuse on my run this morning. I went to a more pedestrianised area to run and did some very tough interval training. 3 minutes fast, 2 minutes slow... and repeat. lots of times.

I spent the day writing and working on a particularly tricky scene in my book but it went well. 

I took this picture on my time lapse tree which is showing so much life... please see here for my last photo on 8 April, here for the entry on 11th March, here for the 6th February and here for the first one I took in January.

It has changed a lot in these last few weeks so I wanted to do some extra. At the end of the year I will do a collage of all of them. 
My quote today:
 
“Sometimes adversity is what you need to face in order to become successful,” Zig Ziglar
 
I have thought about this today and I have questioned what ‘successful’ means. I think success can mean different things to different people. For some it might mean, success in their job, or financially, or success in something you have worked really hard for to achieve. We are facing adversity right now in the difficulties the world is in. For others it might mean something totally different, happiness and peace. I have faced a lot of adversity over the years and have my own spin on things. Through adversity in my younger years I turned my hand to many things, with any conscious awareness of doing so – learning my music, working hard in my studies, my fitness achievements. They were all things that gave me focus through very difficult times. In later years and through more adversity I can say I came very close to hitting rock bottom, mentally and emotionally. But out of that adversity, I climbed. One day at a time I got through it and now I really feel that those experiences have shaped who I am today. They gave me the tools I need for the future to be at peace with myself firstly, but also to give me the confidence to achieve the goals I aspire to fulfil. So for me, through adversity I feel there has been success. My own peace, a contentment of being who I am. That is the most wonderful success I could have ever wanted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.