ANZAC DAY

I admit I wasn't up at 6am - I feel very guilty.  MrD was up and about at 4am!!  He saw people at 6am in the park opposite with candles and heard The Last Post in the distance.  If I was up and listening I would have been a blithering wreck!!  I think of our heroes, and that's what they are, often throughout the year and I don't feel guilty at all.
I called by the War Memorial in Fremantle this afternoon.  There were a few people about and I had tears without reading or listening to anything.
The blip is of one of the flags at the War Memorial overlooking the Port of Fremantle and beyond is Rottnest Island.
Extras is one of the fly bys this morning - a foggy shot as they were flying through rain.
MrD's dad served in three wars, WWII as a young tucker, (MrD's dad said he and his mate were on a British ship and when war broke out they wanted to forego their holidays to be posted to an Australian ship)  followed by the Korean War and the Vietnam War.  He's passed on now.  A hero in my eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.