Anything is possible

There is a certain level of sophistication that you take for granted when watching adverts in the UK. A lot of work goes into some of them and a particularly good one can even provide discussion points at work.

The Arabs on the other hand are rather witless when it comes to marketing and advertising. From car adverts featuring Arabs looking amazed at the size of Toyota's latest environment destroyer to milk adverts that just require a smile from a child to his mother, the level of thought that goes into them is minimal at best.

I had never really noticed magazine adverts until today when someone left a copy of OK! at my desk. This advert for a charity caught my eye and further reinforced my opinion about general witlessness. You can obviously see what they were trying to do and it's likely that the tastelessness of it didn't even register.

Their doltishness comes from missing the irony that Christopher Reeves never did make it out of his wheelchair.


-------
I thought I'd give subliminal advertising a go with today's blip. I'll let you know how I get on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.