Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

In My Junk Drawer

My mother was possibly the untidiest person I've ever known. She never threw anything away, and the idea of 'a place for everything and everything in it's place' never, ever, crossed her mind. In our house, every drawer was a junk drawer. 

Batteries, stamps, birthday cake candles, odd nuts and bolts, scissors, ribbons, pens, aspirins, old letters, bent spoons, etc, etc, and of course, loose change. How many times did I rake those drawers trying to scrape up my bus fare into town?

I must have missed this half-crown. It seems absurd now, such a lump of metal with its grandiose design. The only coins this size nowadays are the chocolate ones we put in the children's Christmas stockings. It took eight of them to equal one pound. 

Thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting Tiny Tuesday - some interesting themes this month :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.