Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Hungry Bird

I saw a house finch sitting in the shade on the arm of one of the patio chairs.  I walked slowly to the camera.  My movements didn't seem to bother it as it might otherwise have.  Then I saw what I thought was the mama coming to feed it.  Back and forth, back and forth.  It wasn't until I got the photos on my computer that I realized that it was the male doing the feeding.

I put a couple in as extras.  One has them cut off a little because I didn't realize how close they were to me (5 ft/1.5 m) and hadn't adjusted the lens length properly.  but I'm wondering what's coming out of the adult's mouth.  The other isn't as sharp as I would like, I always look for the eye, but it's showing the baby sticking out its tongue.  If you compare them, you'll see why I'm befuddled.  The only other explanation is that he's shooting a stream of water into baby's mouth.

Only five times since records have been kept (1895) have we hit or exceeded 100°/38° in April.  We will exceed it the last two days of this month.  We're 10° above normal and they expect this to be an extra hot summer.  Oh, goody!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.