Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Cheering flowers

Yesterday, a basket of flowers arrived from Eric and Pauline. There was no choice of a blip for today. After all it is Flower Friday!

I set off at 1045 for today's walk. I went a bit further than on most days. The rain arrived in the late morning and the temperature dropped. Full waterproof regalia was adopted. In less than half an hour it was dry again. The sun then appeared and I was able to return the waterproofs into my backpack.

The woods today were mainly beech with a carpet of garlic. The latter is just beginning to open so I must return next week so see the carpet of white.

Life in the time of Covid 19
Yesterday, one of the district nurses arrived to take routine bloods from Mum. When she saw my notice about self isolating, she said that she did not have to take the blood. I agreed it was better to wait. It seemed like too much risk to me and her PPE was flimsy with a mask that did not cover her nose.

I want to know much more now about the way this virus behaves. The fact that children do not seem to infect others (??) is worth exploring.

Well done to Matt Hancock for achieving the 100,00 daily tests. Whether they are yet targeted appropriately remains to be seen.

The drive through testing centre in Gateshead is sending the swabs 200 miles south for analysis, despite there being an underutilised Covid lab down the road. Don't ask why!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.