Sunday Morning cycle Ride

If the highlight of my social calendar is clapping the NHS on a Thursday evening with the neighbours, then the highlight of my exercise calendar is my round trip to the furthest reaches of Fairmilehead early on a Sunday morning. This involves a seemingly endless drag uphill and I use it as a measure of my fitness. The return via Braid Hills Road affords an expansive view over the city to the north, with the coast of Fife just visible over the water. It was a bit misty this morning, but since the road is closed at the Liberton Brae end, I had the whole world to myself.

With the day’s exercise completed before 7:30am, I was left wondering how I was going to fill the following hours. There were morning video calls to France and Glasgow before my lonesome domicillary morning coffee at the dining room table, trying not to compare it with the cheery, companionable Sunday coffees at Söderberg BC.

It’s never a good sign for the waist line when one’s day is marked by eating times and it seemed a very quick transition from elevenses to lunch. Having now completed the latter my mind is turning to teatime and beyond while trying to put the knowledge to the back of my mind that there are small Magnum ice creams in the freezer.

I am settling down to read Peter May’s new book, Lockdown, which was written many years ago, but never published. It was a murder novel set in a London locked down and devastated by a virus. At the time, the publishers though it was all too improbable. Famous last words. Well it’s been published now and I am going to spend the rest of the day reading it. I have been told to do so with the lights on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.