Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

High key woodland scene

It certainly has turned much colder today with very strong winds. On the walk I do most days, I go down the road and access the Prince's Covert woods via a small track off the road. As you enter the woods there is a large piece of land where someone stables her horses, so most days I see these lovely horses as I walk past. Last night in the high winds the horses panicked and broke out of their stables, and when the owner managed to round them up in the early hours this morning it was clear that one of the horses was very unwell with colic, and was in great distress and extreme pain - sadly she had to be put down. So today when I went on my walk it was very sad to walk past this beautiful horse lying dead near the track, waiting to be taken away. Her owner had placed a rose across the horse's face. When I returned from my walk an hour later the horse had been taken away - not sure how they lift such a heavy animal to take it away?

I think the entire nation was left very confused about Boris' speech last night telling us the new rules about our lockdown situation. As I am typing this I am also listening to the BBC One news special with the PM's Commons Statement explaining exactly what these new rules means. From Wednesday we can take unlimited amounts of outdoor exercise. We are able to meet one person from another household outdoors if we remain 2m apart. We are able to drive anywhere in England (and not to other countries in the UK as they have different rules) provided we return home that same day, which inevitably means all the local beauty spots in the country are going to be crowded this weekend. Yet we still have to maintain social distancing which I expect the numpties will forget to do. From 1 June onward primary schools and nurseries can open, and from 4 July hairdressers, beauty salons, pubs, hotels and restaurants can also open - provided we do not go backwards in our fight against the virus. Both Germany and China are reporting increased cases since they have lifted lockdown, so who knows what will happen here. Cloth face masks - definitely not medical or surgical masks - are to be worn in crowded shops and on public transport. These will not protect the wearer but will help to contain the transmission of the virus to other people. 

I went to Waitrose today to get groceries and it was so easy and quiet - only 3 people in the queue outside, I was inside before I knew it and inside the shop was also very quiet so it was a pleasure shopping today.

The theme for Mono Monday was High Key, so here we have a woodland scene from my walk today in high key. 

For a laugh - NHS clapping 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.