Lockdown Day 51 - The Big Reveal!

A few days ago in one of my blips I talked about a VERY BIG box that was delivered - something that I’d ordered and wasn’t sure if it would come. One last big splurge before the looming era of austerity!  

And THIS is the big reveal!  I bought a bike!! Not just ANY bike!  An electric bike!  And not just ANY e-Bike, but a FOLDING e-Bike!  (See Extra photo).

I took a gamble. I’d hoped to get one this year but I also planned to try lots of them out. And then the lockdown happened. And once we were in lockdown I wanted one even MORE!  And so I ordered one without even trying it out. I wish I’d ordered it right away because I would have had it to enjoy (and get used to!) while the roads were really quiet. But I think for awhile the roads will still be more quiet than usual, even though restrictions are slowly easing and more and more are going back to work.

It’s taken a few days to figure things out and a neighbour helped me with a bit of the setup. I’ve been out for a ride the last two mornings REALLY early - even 545am yesterday! It’s great fun!  I’m getting exercise while still getting a little bit of help on the hilly bits. It’s not THAT hilly around here, but there are a few roads that have a steeper incline and the electric makes them that bit easier!

The bike (who’s name is Donald, by the way), will be easy to carry in Alfie the Campervan. What I’m hoping though is that it will also fit in the boot of my much smaller car. E-Bikes are NOT lightweight so I’m hoping I can lift it in OK. That’s my next challenge!

(Photo courtesy of Sophie my neighbour!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.