Spring

The Red Bud in our garden is preparing to bloom and the Papa Oriole is enjoying it as a lovely perch. I watched the aviary outside for a bit this morning the weather was warm and lovely. The air was filled with the songs of the Orioles, and Papa House Wren as he flitted between houses. He has to prepare several nests and then the Mrs. makes the final call on which suits her fancy. Two young deer were walking down the path to feast on our hostas as well, but they saw me  and did a quick turn around and raced away.

I suited up and did some quick fruit and vegetable shopping at the outdoor farm stand. No traffic, only one other shopper, they provide Clorox wipes and gloves, so I felt as safe as possible. 

While we we eating lunch, T spied a gorgeous male Scarlet Tanager through the kitchen window, high in the treetops. I went out with my 300mm, but he was way up in the canopy. I'll put two poor photographs in the extras just so you can see his brilliance. In one he has a twig in his beak, so perhaps there is some nest building going on.

For the Record,
This day came in warm and lovely.

All hands wary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.