Blip from the plot

for Flower Friday. I'm really pleased with the broad beans, I've got 3 beds, plantings staggered to prolong the picking season, the last packs of shooting plants will probably go in tomorrow morning.
A very early wake up from the dawn chorus which was definitely pre dawn ... 4.20am to be exact. What were they thinking, those birds. I did manage to get back to sleep. The sun was shining when I did arise, there looked like there had been a bit of overnight frost. Breakfast then up to the plot, removed all the frost protection, hanging it around to dry before packing away, fingers crossed it won't be needed until next Spring. A quick tidy up, watered the carrots, peas, radish, & courgette.
I'd arranged to meet Josie up on the plot for elevenses so I nipped up to town to buy a couple of Danish pastries. We had a lovely catch up, sat in the sunshine. She'd brought me a carrier bag full of toilet roll centres plus a bag of coffee grounds for either the compost heap, or wormery. A first for me, not sure if the worms had experienced coffee grounds before but apparently I have to let them get a little mouldy before I add to the wormery. I do not want caffeine high worms. She came back home, we had pizza, a Coop Vegetable Supreme, which I pimped up with salami, bacon, & sliced mushrooms. Jos left about 4pm.  A lazy day.
Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.