An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

You shall have a fishy...

on a little dishy

I was going to blip Esme's rainbow that I painted for her but it was wrapped and sealed in the envelope when I remembered.  Doh!  So blipping my God-daughter Emily's little snorkelling Chookie Birdie.  

It's her birthday at the beginning of June and she's currently (well she was until lockdown) learning to scuba dive as part of her Marine Biology course at Uni.  I was going to paint the Birdie wearing full diving gear but then there wouldn't have been much Birdie left to see, so snorkelling it is.  I hope it gives her a giggle.

Phoned my Auntie Maisie this afternoon.  It's her birthday today.  She's 82 and lives in Kent so I don't get to see her as often as I would like.  Anyway, gave her a ring to wish her happy birthday.  I should mention at this point that she's deaf as a post!  

Conversation started off well....

"HELLO AUNTIE MAISIE, IT'S ME, DIANE" I bellowed!
"Oh hello Doll, lovely to hear from you.  How are you?"
"I'M GOOD THANKS.  HOW ARE YOU?!"  

We continued, her chatting away happily, me YELLING as every time I spoke she'd say "oh doll, these old ears, they're useless!"  

Anyway, I carried bravely on till, getting hoarse, I decided it was time to wind up the call.

"IT'S BEEN LOVELY TALKING TO YOU AUTIE MAISIE"  I hollered, "BUT I NEED TO GO NOW AND GET THE DINNER STARTED."  
"Oh thanks for phoning Doll.  It was so lovely to hear from you Julie!"
"JULIE?!!  AUNTIE MAISIE IT'S ME!  DIANE!"      Slight pause
"Diane!!!  Oh heavens!  Oh my!  Oh it's you Doll!  Oh lovely, lovely!  How are you all?  I think about you every day!"

And we began the same conversation all over again!  hahahahahaha!  

And that's her with her new hearing aids!  :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.