First of the year

If anything, both Pete and I felt more tired today, so often the way. I was up early to drop Ben at work, but the grey skies didn't tempt me to  go for a morning walk, so I went back to bed for a couple of hours more sleep. 

The main part of the day was broken up by a shopping trip, including gathering some items for one of Alex's clients. I had been planning to go for a walk while he was working but it was hot and windy  - but gave up as I decided the conditions weren't ideal for exercise or photography. 

In the end I managed to get down to the river for an hour before dinner, when the sun was a bit lower. I wasn't very hopeful of capturing any good photos, but the first sheltered corner had a basking Red Admiral and Four-spotted Chaser, which raised my spirits. Further down the path a sheltered area of reeds contained a whole group of Banded Demoiselles, preparing to roost for the night. Every year I'm taken aback by their beauty, the rich emerald green and azures hue of the males was stunning in the evening light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.