Happy Imbolc

It's offically spring this end!! Today is St Bridget's Day, the start of  Imbolc as we head towards the light and warmth. (for more info on Celtic seasons  and St Bridget see last year's blip!) The winds have eased a little, the sun is out and the internet has come back on!!

We seem to have accumulated lots of artwork/prints that needed framing so I headed off to Fastnet framers outside Schull who are very good and very helpful. I then lunched with TJ and had a general catch up and then I had an adventure. I have been trying to get to Dunbeacon stone circle for ages and have trudged across the field only to be met with streams or barbed wire. Today I tried a different route and found a helpful farmer who directed me  down a track and across moorland towards the mountains. Plump sheep watched me in amazement as I trudged through the mud. Worth it though - a compact  and very atmospheric little circle, oddly set in a protective dip yet managing to feel remote and spacious. Originally of 11 stones, 6 are now standing and there is a central odd slab-like stone.  There seem to be two big portal stones facing north pointing towards a recumbent stone.  It feels very unpsoilt, very real, very human somehow. A good place to celebrate Imbolc.
Probably better biggified.
More pix here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.