Iris in the Evening

I was up and about early this morning as Robert was coming to put up a piece of coving which mysteriously fell down several weeks ago.  I made breakfast and put on the breadmaker for a new loaf, and filled up the bird feeders.

I left the door open for Robert and then socially distanced to the patio where I put another coat of paint on the allotment gate and then set about various household jobs.  It didn't take him long to finish so I put the living room back to rights, hoovered and cleaned the floor, dusted the pictures and put them back.   After lunch I applied the final coat to the gate and left it to dry and then had a short walk to the top of the village to collect some rainbow postcards which have been produced in lockdown.  A portion of the price will go to Manorlands Hospice.

It has been too hot for me to stay outside for too long this afternoon so I decided to work on the next window display which is limericks.  I've thrown out a challenge on our neighbourhood WhatsApp for folks to create limericks in three categories: for children; by children; for adults  I'm a little worried about what might come in for the third category!!  This is my contribution for children:

There was a young girl from Moor Edge
Who balanced precariously on a narrow ledge.
She stood on her toes,
Struck a theatrical pose,
And promptly fell off into a hedge!

All this busy stuff and I had forgotten to blip, so here are my irises which have bloomed in the last day or so.  Meanwhile it looks as if the mini meadow is growing triffids!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.