The State I Am In

By Shuji

Nuthatch

Went to the Hermitage of Braid this morning. We spotted two families of nuthatches breeding in the forest. 
I heard a small voice and there was this juvenile nuthatch on the ground. It looked it was not able to fly well yet... I was worried, but soon after its parent came to feed it. Later the juvenile climbed up a tree. I got relieved and left.  
It was my first time to spot a nuthatch in Scotland. Coming back home, I knew nuthatch was not native to Scotland, but recently they are spreading in Scotland. The website of the nature reserve says "Seen occasionally, waiting for the first breeding record as this bird moves north.", though I don't know when the website is last updated...

The extra shot is another nuthatch family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.