The Walnut Shell...

...and the heart. As seen at the beach today. We were up early this morning for Tom's chemo, and when we got home I made him a big Fathers Day breakfast. Jennie and the girls came over with cards for him and had a visit, then wanted to know if I'd like to go for a walk with them. We drove to South Shore Park and walked along the paved path that follows the edge of the lake. I couldn't believe how many people were out biking, running and walking.....some, like us, wearing masks, but lots of people that weren't. We walked close to 4 miles--it was beautiful along the lake as there's lots of shade and a breeze, but as we got further along there wasn't as much shade and it was HOT!  I said I should have brought water along, & Mae pointed to the lake and told me there was lots of water so I could just go get a drink. Gosh, why didn't I think of that! Haha! She asked if we could throw rocks in the lake, and I said "yes" at the same time as Jennie said "no".......so she looked from one of us to the other, then said "Thanks Grandma! Let's go" as she started off across the sand. Jennie just looked at me, and I laughingly said: "Well, at least Mae knows who's the boss" & off I went to catch up with her. We threw lots of rocks into the water, and as we were picking them up we spotted the heart shaped rock with the walnut shell right above it, so I took a picture. Mae wanted to see it, so I showed it to her and she said "Wow, good job, Grandma"! LOL. Nice to know I did a good job. Hope all you Dads, Grandpas, Uncles, & Father figures had a wonderful Fathers Day. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.