Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Mizzle! All day.

Bike✔️
Exercise Videos x2 ✔️

Rain all day, as expected. Apart from taking Archie out for a brief walk in the mizzle in the afternoon, nothing much was done. The day soon passes.

In fact, we watched Black and British:A Forgotten History, because JR hadn’t seen it. I watched it again. David Olusoga is such a good presenter - contrast his calm authoritative style with Michael Portillo in his recent series on the British Empire (one episode of which was about slavery). Portillo does shouty, lecturing voiceovers. He’s fine when he chats to folk, and he’s fine on the radio, but I find his TV stuff almost unwatchable, which is a pity, because I love travel programmes.

Not much news today, but I forgot to mention yesterday - I met a Proclaimer! (Scottish brothers and pop music icons). He was walking along in our neighbourhood. I’m not sure which brother he was, but I heard myself shouting to him-
Are you a Proclaimer?’
‘Yes,
’ he said as he hurried on - probably afraid I’d ask for a selfie with him.
Love your stuff!’ I called after him.
Thanks.’

PS Archie had a peaceful night, after his disturbed one last night. Good. He loves playing with milk cartons... (only when they’re finished, Archie)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.