Friday's painting...

...


My painting for today


This is not my best. I would mark 'can do better'. BUT, what I was trying to do was use the first Zen Brush app in my Android Phone. It is a very tiny screen. And I was curious to see if it could be used to make a detailed sketch on it, despite the tiny about 2.5 inch by 4.5 inch Zen Brush screen available.


This took me 20 minutes. I did use my finger most of the time. And I used my rubber tip Bamboo pen stylus a bit (it is like any phone rubber stylus, but it is a tad more responsive).


I think this shows you can do a fine sketch even on a tiny phone screen in Zen Brush app for Android.


Although, I think it goes without saying, that even the simple Zen sketches would work on the tiny Android phone screen.


The Android tablet works well for this as well. I felt as though my finger was more responsive on my old Android tablets than my newer iPad tablet. But that might be my imagination.


*****
Further info on Zen Brush 2 app I have been using on iPhone and iPad last few days, and comparing it to the Zen Brush app on Android which is free.


Zen Brush 2 This version is for the iPhone, iPad, and Windows 10.
I cannot remember what it cost me I think it might have been £2.99.


The Android version is called Zen Brush. I think it was the first version of Zen Brush. But it is free. It doesn't quite have everything that Zen Brush 2 has.
The settings that are the same in both are-
*you have brush size
*you have black in 3 opacities, but in Zen Brush for Android you don't have the setting of 3 slightly different brush strokes, and you do not have red
*you have a rubber, but it just totally rubs out in Zen Brush, ZB2 has 3 opacities for rubber
*you have undo function and redo, but only one go at it in Zen Brush
*in menu, the list icon in Zen Brush for the Android, you have templates which seems to give you all the papers and frames and colours that I have in ZenBrush2 for iPhone and iPad
*you can save in Zen Brush, same as ZB2, but in Zen Brush it goes straight to photos, and not an internal gallery as in ZB2


I am looking at my Android now so that's how I can tell you this about the differences between Zen brush (Android) and Zen brush 2 (iPhone, iPad, Windows 10)


By the way, I hadn't realised the calligraphy type apps on Android were under the search term Zen, and so I never found them initially.


So, I have just searched under Zen for other calligraphy apps on the Android, and found a few free ones. And there was a paid calligraphy one I fancied. It was £1.79. so, I downloaded that on to my Android phone, and I just resurrected my old Android tablet which needed a kick to reboot it (Android 7). It gives you a pile of brushes, brushstrokes, colours and more. I am not recommending it yet, but first signs are very promising, and you will get the red colour that is lacking on the Zen Brush on Android.


So, if you want the red colour that is on ZenBrush2 on my iPad then that is one way. There may be another app on the Android that will give you the red colour, but I am too tired still for brain to do much more yet.


Oh, that £1.79 app on Android is called Calligraphy Calm ink painter. It also looks promising for some cartoon like pictures I like to do.


Just some info!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.