NHS Birthday

It is the 72nd birthday of the NHS, just one year older than me.  We put a candle in the front bedroom window last night, probably not the best suggestion made to celebrate the NHS given the possibility of house fires caused by window curtains catching.  The outside clapping at 5pm this evening seemed safer, though not so supported as the weekly ones used to be.

We had the family zoom quiz at 12.  Colin set the questions, the theme being Countdown.  Ann and I were OK'ish with the letters but not so good with the numbers.

After lunch we went for a walk to Shottery, I spotted this wall with the hollyhocks and flags celebrating the NHS and thought it appropriate for tonight's blip.

The extra I would have called Strange Fruit, these handmade wool balls hanging from the branches of the large oak tree on the village green, but the words have a much darker, abhorrent meaning as in the song by Billie Holiday, so I won't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.