today's another day

By dbrereton

2 books

Been over to York to see my sister and family today. She'd found 2 books while sorting stuff out during lockdown.

Both are Sunday School attendance prizes in 1950 for my dad Philip who would have been 15 and his brother Clifford, my uncle, who would have been 12. Hurst Methodist, Mossley Road, Ashton-u-Lyne if you're interested.

Anyway, on opening my dad's he has kept his up to date, with miniscule pencil additions to tables and additional sheets of tables capturing the electrification of lines, including voltages, and the new diesels coming into service.

Clifford's is unadorned. I'd like to think he was playing out with his mates unlike big brother who already had met the love of his life.....railways.

Enjoy the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.