Beside the Seaside

Fairly quiet at the seaside this morning. As can be seen from the attire of the people on the beach it was not a day for sunbathing. The Ferris wheel appears on the left, and the Beach Ballroom on the far right almost out of picture (due to a slight error of framing).

I thought this picture had a hint of a "Lowry" look to it. I was tempted to add to the effect by giving it a mild "painterly" effect, but in the end left it natural.

The Wide Wednesday theme hosted by RockArea asks for a movie title. It could only be "On The Beach". Many many years ago I read the book by Nevil Shute on which the film is based. I am sure I must have seen the film at some point also. Not the happiest of tales!

The challenge calls for the use of a wide angle or similar effect. I have actually used a long lens to produce what I think is a wide angle effect. I think it gives much more depth and compression to this picture which could not have been obtained had I been closer to the subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.