Under the tree

Went back to Westonbirt today and spent over two hours wandering and walking. The light and warmth really got strong towards the end of my visit and I took this shot whilst standing underneath a lovely maple tree. I was amazed how quiet it was despite the allocation of tickets for visitors selling out. When I left at 3pm it looked like it was busying up for the final guests of the day.

Today was the first time I’ve heard woodpeckers in the Old Arboretum but despite being very quiet as I walked I couldn’t spot them, maybe next time . . .

I did a bit of exploring a new part of the arboretum and ended up quite deep in a forest in Silk Wood which felt a bit eerie due to lack of light and sound. There appeared to be horse shoe prints in the mud on the path which was odd as I wasn’t aware horses were allowed in the arboretum. It took me a while to find my way back to the main path and I was glad to get back into a place where I could see the sky.

Tetbury looked pretty busy and there were lots of people making use of the reopened cafes and eateries. I bobbed into town to grab some limes for a cake I’m making tomorrow.

Walking back to my car I spotted a wedding at the local church, the first one I’ve seen since lockdown. The few guests looked really thrilled and excited.

Slow, restful evening which was much needed as I didn’t sleep well last night thanks to a stiff neck. I’m getting drawn into an old Bond movie but I really think I should be sorting some books!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.