LornaL

By LornaL

Grannie's suitor

Redland
February 6th ’74

Dear Miss M

I herewith send you the Appendix hymns which I beg you will accept as a small token of my regard for your appreciation and love of good music.

I also send you a copy of a fine manuscript tune - at least I believe it be, for I have never seen it published - ‘Elijah’ which I heard some time ago. Having to write it from memory, I can’t fill in the alto and tenor without the aid of an instrument. When you hear it sung after the other parts are written in, you will say it is a splendid tune. I will get you to kindly play for me what I have managed to recollect. I think I shall then be able to complete the harmony.

Yours truly

GL

If you like it, we will sing it at your chapel one evening. Kindly try over the three or four-part songs enclosed and tell me what you think of them.

GL

Lorna’s paternal grandfather sent this letter to her paternal grandmother in 1874 before they were married. Could this be the equivalent of a mixed tape shared between devout nineteenth century Christian sweethearts?

The letter predates that previously blipped of 5 months later in July 1874. By then Miss M and GL were on first name terms, and on the point of announcing their engagement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.