MY BROTHER

Doorbell rang this morning and when I opened the door I found 6 parcels on the doorstep. It was like Christmas.  Online shopping during lockdown has been a godsend.  Three of today's parcels contained plants.  The other two were household essentials.

Pottered around until around 3pm and then I headed out to the bus stop.  First bus journey since before lockdown.  Had my mask on ready. Bus was virtually empty.  Journey was fine and it didn't take long to get to where I had to get off.  Bit of a walk and then I was at my brothers house.

C was sitting outside in his front " garden " when I arrived,  I say garden but its just a small plot.  It used to be paved over but recently he has put down some fake grass and bought plants to put in pots.  He's also got a collection of dinosaurs,  A bit random I know but even when he was a small child he loved dinosaurs.

Musical link - John Williams conducts Jurassic Park

C was sitting on his newly painted bench.  Its an old park bench he bought in a junk shop.  It was in bits and needed some new slats.  He's done a good job.  There was a chair in the corner for me to sit on.  The weather was " scorching " hot. That's not a word I use very often but where I was sitting was a real sun trap.

We had a nice catch up.  Biggest problem was that apart from having tinnitus which he has always suffered from C has gone a bit deaf in one ear.  He had a bit of difficulty hearing me and this wasn't helped by the fact that the main railway line runs past the bottom of his street and the trains were very noisy.   I couldn't believe how many trains were running and as far as I could see not many seats were taken on any of them.

C nipped to the shop while I was there to get milk and sugar so he could have a cup of coffee.  He did have plenty of both yesterday but he had forgotten to put his milk in the fridge and it had " gone off " and he had spilled all his sugar.  (That's typical behaviour for him.)  Anyway he came back from the shop with milk, sugar ....... and wine.  Its actually wine he's drinking in my photos. I suppose by this time it was after 6pm so it was OK.

I left C around 6.30pm.  Got a bus fairly quickly and there were plenty seats so I was in the house by 7pm.  So I've been on the bus at last.  All very " painless " I'm glad to say.  Wearing a mask was not pleasant but its got to be done.

Steps today - 6,023 (2.35 miles )

CORONA CLASSIC - Palestrina - Missa Nigra Sum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.