Loweswater

The weather was pretty dire when I woke up this morning. I had some breakfast and got on with doing a few things and gradually things started to look better. By 11.30 it was definitely looking promising so I stowed everything away and headed off towards Loweswater which I'd decided earlier would be my destination, inspired by seeing John Gravett's photo from there a few days back. I'd been to Loweswater once before with blippers Draco and Loosecanon on a free day in 2013. We went to the woods because the weather was so poor and no doubt if we'd gone to the lakeshore we wouldn't have seen these wonderful hills.

Today I followed the path and walked round to the lake. There were some people wild swimming in a little bay which was the place I wanted to be. They seemed like a nice family group and they had finished swimming when I got there so I sat down a bit further along and set up my tripod for some shots. After a while I continued into the woods. I considered going to Holme Force waterfall but I understand that the way is slippy and as things were so wet anyway I thought maybe not. I walked down to another little bay where the beck from the waterfall enters the lake and got out to a vantage point with wet feet for some more shots. By this time the sky was clearing well and I returned along the path to my previous stop where the light was now so much better.

My main blip is with a multi exposure with my standard lens and the first extra is a wide-angle shot. The 2nd extra was taken as I walked towards the lake and you can see how different the sky was earlier on. I'm putting an album up on F*ickr and I'll put a link on here tomorrow,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.