Just a Dublin laneway

Hmmmm ... I had an invitation to the opening of an exhibition by this guy called Guggi, an artist who's well in U2's good books. Niall came along with me to savour what we thought might be a bit of buzz. There was that alright, but the stuff on the walls was pretty terrible, despite asking prices ranging from 4,800 to 28,600 euro (basically depending on size). Brian Kennedy was there, as was Paul Brady. No sign of Bono or the others, though. As one person we talked to put it: 'It's all very musical isn't it?' All a bit sad, too, really. Like the Emperor's New Clothes.

I grabbed a bite of Indian afterwards. Before that I managed to fit in a bit of work, and got in to town in plenty of time. Certainly enough time on hand to grab a few shots out the windows of the car park. There's something about this laneway beside the Brown Thomas car park which entices me to it any time I'm around there. Maybe it's the brickwork. Maybe it's the way the light plays on the surfaces. Whatever: it makes a blip (and a hell of a lot better than what was on show on the walls in the art gallery).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.