Work in progress

Here is a morning scene – a tea break with Juno on the lap surveying a lawn that's full of holes. I'm digging various trenches to see where to dig a pond. I tried one corner but it was full of tree roots. I think I've found a better place but I'm not committing just yet. In the meantime, the pond plants have arrived. I'm sure they're as disappointed as I am that they're wallowing in a blue plastic storage tub. Still, it's nice to have a pond, even though it's one that can be carried away if needed.

Surveying on a tea break is all that I've done in the garden as I'm full pelt at work in the home office. I've one day before this book gets sent to the printer and (yikes!) I don't see it again until the printed copy. We're right against the wire on this one but it looks great thanks to the team here and in Delhi. We had a video conference this morning and mostly everyone was feeling the relief of a job almost done. I felt for the chap who is still in the midst of his work – I hope he hasn't had to work late, again. I find that most of us have been working late, which might be because the office is right there on that table, but I think at this stage of the project I do tend to stay late in the office at least once or twice. Summit fever!

Fred and I got out for a walk at 5.30 to Streatham Common and Norwood Grove. The saxophone man was walking and playing along the path – it's so nice to hear him. No parakeets today and the gaggle of dogs wasn't in evidence – perhaps we were too early.

We ordered a curry and settled back to watch the streamed Nick Cave concert: Idiot Prayer from Alexandra Palace, beautifully staged by the cinematographer of The Favourite. I enjoyed trying to colour match my Hue light to the lighting onscreen to help with the concert-at-home feel.

Mum stomped me at the Virtual Pub Quiz with 43/50 compared to my measly 37/50. Gah! Amongst the 13 I got wrong were the collective noun for frogs, the colour of the House of Common benches and mis-identifying the voice of a British chef (I can't tell Gordon Ramsay from Jamie Oliver).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.